June ’13 | kids were here

I was recently invited to join a blog circle – “kids were here”.  As a photographer, I have kicked shoes out of the way, moved toys, chairs etc to get a clean shot – this allowed me to step back and embrace the mess.

“These still life images serve as a daily reminder that my days are awash in chaos, whimsy, laughter and laundry (sometimes all at once). They capture toys and spills and puddles and piles. Sentimental, solitary moments of childhood ephemera. A gentle prodding to live in the now and stop looking toward the “then.” And though sometimes I pray for clean and quiet and still, I know all too well it will come. And I will yearn for tiny shrieks of laughter in my bedroom. For toys and loveys strewn about. For signs of a daily life well lived. For traces of my babies who once were. For reminders that Kids Were Here–and they were life and light and love.” – Stephanie Beaty

kidswerehere

kidswerehere1-6

kidswerehere-2

kidswerehere-3

kidswerehere-5

_________________________________________________________________

Please follow our blog circle to my fellow photog, Meredith.

Meredith| FramingSunshine.com

___________________________________________________________________

11 thoughts on “June ’13 | kids were here

  1. Wow. That is all. 🙂
    Great captures! Every shot has a reason (or more) that keeps me looking. Clearly you were inspired this month, it is great to see and it inspires me to do better next month!

    1. Thank you Tracey! I absolutely enjoyed working on this. I am ready to see what this next month brings. Thank you again for letting me in on this!

  2. Great job girl! such a boy house 🙂 Haha. The last photo with the croc against the wall made me laugh out loud. I am always finding mine in various places in our house – my youngest thinks he can drive them around as cars 🙂 awesome start to the project!

    1. Amber – Thank you! Graham is into photographing “his stuff”. He had a vtech camera that he broke, he’d carry around the house/yard and shot different items he moved. It reminds me of that. The tiny details.

  3. I love your captures! I am having a difficult time picking a favorite, they are all creative and fun to look at!! Great job!!

  4. These are all so great! I love the first one with the tent and the sun. So great. All these images have such great details. I stared at each one for a while! Really well done!

    1. Thank you!! This has given me so much push in the creative aspect of photography. It was exactly what I needed to move forward.

    1. Thank you!! I am a light watcher. He he. It has been quite satisfying and I am happy to be doing this with you talented ladies.

Leave a Reply

